„If you like not my writing, go read something else.“

—  Robert Burton, buch Anatomie der Melancholie

Quelle: The Anatomy of Melancholy

Robert Burton Foto
Robert Burton5
englischer Schriftsteller und anglikanischer Geistlicher un… 1577 - 1640

Ähnliche Zitate

Meg Cabot Foto
Frank Zappa Foto

„Just because somebody hears something you say, or reads something that you write, doesn’t mean you’ve reached them.“

—  Frank Zappa American musician, songwriter, composer, and record and film producer 1940 - 1993

Oui interview (1979)
Kontext: Just because somebody hears something you say, or reads something that you write, doesn’t mean you’ve reached them. With reading comprehension being what it is in the U. S., you can safely toss that one out the window. If you want to judge by the listening habits of people who buy records, the first thing they do is put it on and talk over it.

Umberto Eco Foto
Ovid Foto

„or that writing a poem you can read to no one
is like dancing in the dark.“

—  Ovid, The Poems of Exile: Tristia and the Black Sea Letters

Quelle: The Poems of Exile: Tristia and the Black Sea Letters

Anne Frank Foto

„Who else but me is ever going to read these letters?“

—  Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

Quelle: The Diary of a Young Girl

Samuel Beckett Foto

„I do not feel like spending the rest of my life writing books that no one will read. It is not as though I wanted to write them.“

—  Samuel Beckett Irish novelist, playwright, and poet 1906 - 1989

The Letters of Samuel Beckett 1929–1940 (2009), p. 362
Kontext: I think the next little bit of excitement is flying. I hope I am not too old to take it up seriously, nor too stupid about machines to qualify as a commercial pilot. I do not feel like spending the rest of my life writing books that no one will read. It is not as though I wanted to write them.

Kim Addonizio Foto
Angela Carter Foto
Christopher Morley Foto
Bob Dylan Foto

„I read On the Road in maybe 1959. It changed my life like it changed everyone else's.“

—  Bob Dylan American singer-songwriter, musician, author, and artist 1941

On the influence of Jack Kerouac on him, as quoted Grasping for the Wind : The Search for Meaning in the 20th Century (2001) by John W. Whitehead

Haruki Murakami Foto
Susan Sontag Foto
Max Frisch Foto
Robertson Davies Foto
Ellen DeGeneres Foto
Ali Smith Foto
Robert Graves Foto
William Hazlitt Foto

„It is better to be able neither to read nor write than to be able to do nothing else.“

—  William Hazlitt English writer 1778 - 1830

"On the Ignorance of the Learned"
Table Talk: Essays On Men And Manners http://www.blupete.com/Literature/Essays/TableHazIV.htm (1821-1822)

„Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Etiam egestas wisi a erat. Morbi imperdiet, mauris ac auctor dictum.“

x